A man of auction

Wow, what a New Year already…

Opportunities are sometimes fleeting, but this one wouldn’t let me go…

In two weeks, I’ll be in California to serve as a QA Director at eBay San Jose.

Effective January 18, I’ll be leading testers and managers on the “Buyer Experience” team — they’re responsible for all of the tools (mainly search) that help users make  a decision on whether to take part in an auction or to “Buy It Now”.  The quality of the experience of the actual auctions is another department, but if I succeed, I may be able to help those guys, too.

Regardless, in two weeks, consider me an eBay ombudsman.  If you have a problem with an eBay experience, I want to know about it.  It may not be my department, but I’ll funnel it to where it needs to go.

They don’t know yet that I  consider the “A” in my title to be “Assistance”, not  “Assurance”, but they’ll just have to forgive me.

You know me for my ideas, and you know I’ll delight in hiring people smarter than me down there.  Julian Harty is already there and I’ll get to work with him.  So is John Belbute, formerly of Intuit and WebMD. He’s my boss. Above him is VP Todd Paul, ex-senior-Microsoftie and former boss of Harry Robinson on the Bing team.

That’s my new crew. Hard to turn down that kind of team and that kind of brand.  I also have a chance to try some new material and enhance a testing culture.

I thank Quardev for 6 years of opportunities to try my half-baked ideas.  They’re the best testing force in Seattle and they’ve survived ten years with no venture capital, only revenue-funded, privately owned. They’ll do fine without me because the way they approach projects is authentic and honest, and they understand that I need this challenge next in my career.

So, yes, you got that right — one of two uncertified, context-driven Bach brothers will be leading senior test managers at a major brand name company very soon. I’m rarin’ to go, hopeful and optimistic, but also busy repeating the astronaut’s prayer.

I’ll still be shepherding CAST in Seattle, still be going to STAR East and West, STP, QUEST, and PNSQC.  If you’re there, say hi and tell me what you did to find a bug on the eBay site. Hopefully my response will be “I’m on it” or “It’s already in the queue.”

13 Responses to “A man of auction”

  1. meeta Says:

    Awesome !!
    Wish you the very best !!

  2. Becky Says:

    Congratulations, Jon. This is terrific news.

  3. Joey Says:

    Congratulations, Jon! It sounds like an excellent opportunity for both you and eBay, and I wish you the very best!

  4. Hal Bryan Says:

    Congratulations once again, my friend, they are beyond lucky to have you!!!

  5. Neil Thompson Says:

    Jon, Congrats & best wishes on that. By the way, I emailed James re CAST2011 a day or two ago, copied you in on your old Quardev address so you may not have seen that.

  6. Justin Hunter Says:

    Jon,

    That’s great news. I agree that the people you’ll be working with sound outstanding. Enjoy the opportunity.

    Seeing Julian Harty “in action” at StarWest this year was a fun experience for me because of his obviously impressive intellect, his willingness to share controversial views, and his visible joy in engaging in intelligent debate, and his wry sense of humor. Working with him is guaranteed to be very interesting and memorable.

    – Justin

  7. Marta Says:

    Congrats Jon! Too bad we ended up not moving to CA, otherwise you’d have my CV right there. What an opportunity to work with both you and Julian! If you drop by London, let us know and we’ll take you out to lunch (or maybe you’ll come to another LEWT!)

    Happy new year,

    Marta

  8. Brian Osman Says:

    Congrats Jon – what a great crew that will be working with you and look forward to hearing about what experiences ebay will throw up!

    All the best. :)

  9. Santhosh Shivanand Tuppad Says:

    Congratulations Jon. I look forward to hear about your experiences.

    All the best :)

  10. Dan Downing Says:

    Terrific Jon! And look forward to doing our LAWST-style performance testing workshop together at the Spring STPCon at Opryland!

  11. Alan Myrvold Says:

    Congratulations, Jon. So sorry you’re leaving, but eBay is luck to have you, and I’m interested in hearing about your successes.

  12. Dave McNulla Says:

    Congratulations. I can’t exactly remember the last defect I saw on EBay, but there are plenty of things to improve.

    Dave

  13. Derek Fournier Says:

    Many congrats man. I look forward to hours of heated conversation about everything from search to corporate culture differences!

    Yo yo yo yo!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

